Hope you enjoy this article

Warm wishes

Glyn

Posted August 19, 2014 in Career Management, by Justin Babet

A few weeks back I wrote an article about how to deal with a micro-manager which seemed to hit a nerve with a few people who responded along the lines of “yeah, but you don’t know MY boss.” That’s true, I don’t know your boss and no doubt it’s their fault they’re micromanaging you. Certainly it’s not your fault and so you’re not responsible, right?
Well… no. You may not be responsible for the situation, but you are responsible for you. When you blame someone or something else for your situation you’ve given up your personal responsibility. In other words, you’re giving up your “ability to respond”.

There’s no better way to dis-empower yourself than to point the finger at someone else and say, “that’s why I’m miserable” or “that’s why I hate my job”.
And of course, I’m not just talking about blaming your boss, I’m talking about blaming anything in your work or personal life. For example,
“I’m not doing well as a manager because I didn’t get any management training.”
Or “I didn’t get the promotion because my boss doesn’t like me.”
Or even, “My life is over because I’ve had a stroke and can’t move anything but my eye lids.”

Ok so that’s a pretty extreme example and please don’t think for a second that I’m trying to dismiss anyone’s problems. Just like Dawn Webster who’s mentioned in the link above, no doubt your problems are very real, and you probably have every right to blame something or someone else for your misfortune.
That doesn’t mean you can’t take control and ask yourself, “what can I do to improve my situation?”

I heard a great analogy the other day – it’s not the snakebite that kills, it’s the venom in your veins. In other words, the problems you’re facing aren’t what will do the real damage. The real damage is done when you let the fact you have a problem stop you from doing something about it.